Why burlesque?

The costumes. The glamour. Alone on a stage with a sea of admiring, intrigued people. The community. The movement. The tease. Entertaining the audience.

I suppose I do it for the fleeting glorious moments on stage. There is nothing like commanding an audience to look at you, to see what ideas you are putting onto the stage. For the hour before hitting the stage, I primp, polish and review my music, walk around in my rhinestoned heels to make sure I feel stable, fret a little, and stretch my arms to make sure that they are as graceful as they can be. I often order a Manhattan and if there’s access to the mainfloor, sit with a friend or my beau to watch the rest of the show before I go on, or if I’m first, join them there after I’ve changed out of my costume.

I admit, I do like it when people talk to me before and after a show, admiring my performances, my presence, my presentation. It tickles me. It means I’m doing my job right. The shy human in the corner trying not to stare appreciatively also pleases me to no end.

I do it, because being entertaining is fulfilling to me, the costumes delight me, and dancing feeds my soul. The first moments on stage are absolutely electric. You have a very small amount of time to grip the audience into believing your story on stage. I feel as if those moments are the most important, since it’s excruciatingly hard to regain them in the middle or end of the act. You certainly don’t want them to be happy you’re done with an act, do you?

I’m mostly inspired by my community in Seattle by the likes of Waxie Moon, Evilyn Sin Claire, Inga Ingenue, Miss Indigo Blue, Ernie Von Schmaltz, Ben De La Creme, Heidi Von Haught and a few others. Their imagination, confidence and skill are phenomenal assets to our performance communities.

When I first began my crazy trip into a glitter wonderland, I found Catherine D’Lish, Immodesty Blaize, Tigger!, Julie Atlas Muz, Michelle L’amour, The Pontani Sisters and Miss Dirty Martini and nearly lost my mind watching their deeply unique and fascinating interpretations of their burlesque. They entertain me and make me think. I very much appreciate that I have had wonderful interactions and with some, friendships that continue to make my stay here in the world of burlesque a worthwhile one.

I’ve been at it for since 2005, and I’m only picking up speed!

Leave a Reply

