Stripper Talk #8: I want to do my first show!

Author of Stripper Talk, Sydni Deveraux

Hello world! It’s Stripper Talk time again! This is a place where I field questions and answer them to the best of my ability, hopefully giving anyone who’s interested in burlesque some insight.

This week’s question comes from Brittany H.

” Dear Sydni,

Ever since I saw my first show in October, I’ve fallen down the rabbit hole into that glitter wonderland that is burlesque.  Eventually I’d love to perform in a show when I have more experience.  I guess my question would be how to break into my first show.  I’ve been told some shows require an audition and some a video.  What would be the best option? 

Yours truly,
Brittany H.”

Hi Brittany,

Thanks for writing in! It seems the answer is pretty clear- you need to audition. Audition as many times as you need to, and the good news is, auditions do nothing but give you more experience, no matter if you are chosen for the job. If you have access to a video camera, start filming your act (rent some dance studio time), get a good edit of it, and send it to shows in your area requesting an audition. If you have some good nerve about you, ask them for constructive criticism. No time to learn like the present to evolve as a performer, and feedback can only assist to make you stronger. While you’re waiting to break into your first show, check out classes that offer a newbie showcases at the end of their series, and find other new performers in your area and ask them how they’re going about things.

Since you’re just starting out, really- newbie showcases and amateur burlesque contests are your best option. Also ask a couple of established performers in your area if they can point you in the right direction of a show or two, and work from the ground up. Offer to stage kitten, sell raffle tickets, and merch and really get the hang of a show before asking to put something on their stage.

No matter what, even if you don’t get on the stage as soon as you want, remember that this should be fun. It can be a lot of hard work, but it’s fun too!

Happy New Year!

xo
Sydni Deveraux

*Would you like your burlesque question answered in Stripper Talk? Email me at GlitterWonderland@gmail.comWant to see more of me? Check out www.GlitterWonderland.com

2 thoughts on “Stripper Talk #8: I want to do my first show!

  1. Thank you sooooo much for answering my question! I never really thought it’d get read, let alone get picked for your blog. I’ll definitively use your advice. Hopefully, I’ll be able to take a burlesque class at the very least and if I can find an amateur burlesque showcase or contest, that’ll be even better.

    Thank you again,

    Brittany H.

  2. Thank you so much for answering my question! I didn’t you would have the time to read, let alone answering it. I will definitively be taking your advice about taking classes. It will be even better if I can find an amateur burlesque showcase or contest.

    Again, Thank you so much for listening,

    Brittany H.

Leave a Reply

